Home

Another poem, long one this. Thanks again to Arjen Duinker and Querido for giving permission to put them online. Querido: www.querido.nl. Arjen Duinker

This poem is ‘Vogels antwoorden niet’ in, Arjen Duinker, Buurtkinderen, Amsterdam: Querido, 2009, p. 198-200. Stanzas are separated by a dash for the sole stupid reason that I do not understand WordPress.

BIRDS DO NOT ANSWER

People say that a poem is about somewhere

I say that a poem is about nowhere,

Or I say that a poem is not about somewhere.

But today I say that a poem is about something.

Even more, I say today that a poem is

About the little words ‘the’ and ‘a’, if they at least are somewhere.

To simplify things, in eightfold:

The the the the the the the the,

A a a a a a a a.

Twenty three times is of course also possible.

Who sits on a chair, hangs up his wet coat,

Who bends his arms, moves with,

Who bends his legs, rolls,

Who sits on a bench, puts on his wet coat.

Who sits on an edge, talks in himself,

Who stretches his legs, adds on,

Who stretches his arms, rolls,

Who sits on a surface, talks in someone else.

I assert that something big is big and something small small.

This assertion is without consequences.

A has fewer letters than the.

People suspect that the is about a,

People suspect that a is about the.

Maybe we can assume that the and a are assumptions.

Maybe they are somewhere.

Because a chair, a sofa, a stool,

The table, the roll of wrapping paper, the radio.

Ask sometime if someone has seen the and a,

Ask sometime if someone has seen them somewhere.

Woman with sleek hair, woman with stuck-up hair

Woman with short hair, woman with made-up hair.

Birds do not answer, they are birds.

The same goes for dogs and zebras.

Women maybe answer.

The opposite of denying an answer,

The opposite of the speaks like a horse.

Today we do not do gymnastic exercises in public,

Today we determine the nonchalance of the skin.

Do you eat on the street? Is there something wrong with your pants?

Do you sneeze on the street? Are you wearing easy shoes?

Do you spit on the street? Who are you talking to?

Leaning is a way of walking

And today a shape of if it turns out that way.

You could bend,

You could inspect something,

You could say something with someone else’s words,

You know, the kind of words to which you sometimes listen.

I feel like a glas of water.

I also feel like sitting.

And I also feel like sleeping.

And I feel like getting up.

And I feel like a glass of water.

Who are you talking to? Who are you overtaking?

Do you feel like you are having a conversation?

The and a are numbers of course.

Can be subject, and object.

Tomorrow and all days after that I say

That a poem is about nowhere

And not about somewhere.

In the distance there is a tree.

The funny thing is also that I know a dude

Who is always calling me A, reason why he is The.

How are you, A? No idea, to be honest, and you, The?

Well, you see, I wouldn’t know.

In the distance there is a tree.

In the distance lives a bird.

In the distance hangs a cloud.

That bird is important for me,

So in the distance lives an important bird.

That tree is less important for me

And that cloud does not mean anything.

Could just as well be a tea cloth,

Prediction or back pocket.

People say that a poem is about somewhere.

I say that a poem is about nowhere,

Or I say that a poem is not about somewhere.

But today I say that a poem is about something.

So in the distance there is an important bird.

VOGELS ANTWOORDEN NIET

Men zegt dat een gedicht ergens over gaat.

Ik zeg dat een gedicht nergens over gaat,

Of ik zeg dat een gedicht niet over ergens gaat,

Maar vandaag zeg ik dat een gedicht ergens over gaat.

Sterker nog, ik zeg vandaag dat een gedicht gaat

Over de woordjes ‘de’ en ‘een’, als die tenminste ergens zijn.

Voor het gemak in achtvoud:

De de de de de de de de.

Een een een een een een een een.

Drieentwintig keer kan natuurlijk ook.

Wie op een stoel zit, hangt zijn natte jas op,

Wie zijn armen buigt, beweegt mee,

Wie zijn benen buigt, rolt,

Wie op een bank zit, trekt zijn natte jas aan.

Wie op een rand zit, praat in zichzelf,

Wie zijn benen strekt, voegt toe,

Wie zijn armen strekt rolt,

Wie op een vlak zit, praat in iemand anders.

Ik stel vast dat iets groots groot is en iets kleins klein.

Deze vaststelling is zonder gevolgen.

De heeft minder letters dan een.

Men vermoedt dat de over een gaat,

Men vermoedt dat een over de gaat.

Misschien kunnen we aannemen dat de en een vermoedens zijn.

Misschien zijn ze ergens.

Onder een stoel, een bank, een kruk,

De tafel, de rol kaftpapier, de radio.

Vraag eens of iemand de en een heeft gezien,

Vraag eens of iemand ze ergens heeft gezien.

Vrouw met sluik haar, vrouw met opgestoken haar,

Vrouw met kort haar, vrouw met verzonnen haar.

Vogels antwoorden niet, het zijn vogels.

Hetzelfde geldt voor honden en zebra’s.

Vrouwen antwoorden misschien.

Het omgekeerde van een antwoord ontkennend,

Het omgekeerde van de spreekt als een paard.

Vandaag doen we geen gymnastiekoefeningen in het openbaar

Vandaag bepalen we de nonchalance van de huid.

Eet je op straat? is er iets met je broek?

Nies je op straat? heb je gemakkelijke schoenen aan?

Spuug je op straat? schijnt de zon door je bril?

Kijk je op straat? Tegen wie praat je?

Leunen is een manier van lopen

En vandaag een vorm van als het zo uitkomt.

Je zou kunnen bukken,

Je zou iets kunne bekijken,

Je zou iets kunne zeggen met andermans woorden,

Je weet wel, van die woorden waar je soms naar luistert.

Ik heb zin in een glas water.

Ik heb ook zin om te zitten.

En ik heb zin om te slapen.

En ik heb zin om op te staan.

Ik heb zin in een glas water.

Tegen wie praat je? Wie haal je in?

Vind je dat je een gesprek voert?

De en een zijn natuurlijk cijfers.

Kunnen onderwerp zijn, en lijdend voorwerp.

Morgen en alle dagen daarna zeg ik

Dat een gedicht nergens over gaat

En niet over ergens.

In de verte staat een boom.

Het grappige is ook nog eens dat ik een gozer ken

Die me steevast Een noemt, reden waarom hij De is.

Hoe gaat het, Een? Geen idee, eerlijk gezegd, en met jou, De?

Nou, zie je, ik zou het ook niet weten.

In de verte staat een boom.

In de verte woont een vogel.

In de verte hangt een wolk.

Die vogel is belangrijk voor mij,

In de verte woont dus een belangrijke vogel.

Die boom is minder belangrijk voor mij

En die wolk zegt me niks.

Zou evengoed een theedoek kunnen zijn,

Voorspelling of achterzak.

Men zegt dat een gedicht ergens voer gaat.

Ik zeg dat een gedicht nergens over gaat,

Of ik zeg dat een gedicht niet over ergens gaat.

Maar vandaag zeg ik dat een gedicht ergens over gaat.

In de verte woont dus een belangrijke vogel.

One thought on “‘Birds do not answer’

  1. versuch mal nach jeden vers anstatt “enter” “shift+enter” gleichzeitig druecken. das sollte helfen.

Leave a Reply

