Home

Many thanks to friend J. (she knows who she is) for pointing out this list of belly-quotes from the bible. The belly is where we are joined to our beginning, cut off from our beginning, around which a considerable percentage of our thoughts devolve for the rest of our lives, is an allegory for the potential and truth and horribleness of our humanity, is the locale of our comfort and sin.

A selection of the in total 62 occurrences:

John 7:38 He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water

Romans 16:18 For those who are such don’t serve our Lord, Jesus Christ, but their own belly; and by their smooth and flattering speech, they deceive the hearts of the innocent.

Philippians 3:19 whose end is destruction, whose god is the belly, and whose glory is in their shame, who think about earthly things.

Revelation 10:10 And I took the little book out of the angel’s hand, and ate it up; and it was in my mouth sweet as honey: and as soon as I had eaten it, my belly was bitter.

Genesis 3:14 Yahweh God said to the serpent, “Because you have done this, you are cursed above all livestock, and above every animal of the field. On your belly you shall go, and you shall eat dust all the days of your life.

Genesis 41:21 and they came into their belly, and it could not be known that they had come into their belly; and their look was bad, as at the beginning.

Judges 3:22 And the haft also went in after the blade; and the fat closed upon the blade, so that he could not draw the dagger out of his belly; and the dirt came out.

Job 3:11 Why died I not from the womb? why did I not give up the ghost when I came out of the belly?

Job 10:19 As I had not been, I am, From the belly to the grave I am brought

Job 20:15 He has swallowed down riches, and he shall vomit them up again. God will cast them out of his belly.

Job 20:20 Surely he shall not feel quietness in his belly, he shall not save of that which he desired.

Job 40:16 Look now, his strength is in his thighs. His force is in the muscles of his belly.

Psalms 22:10 I was cast upon thee from the womb: thou art my God from my mother’s belly.

Proverbs 20:30 The blueness of a wound cleanseth away evil: so do stripes the inward parts of the belly.

Proverbs 26:22 The words of a talebearer are as wounds, and they go down into the innermost parts of the belly.

Isaiah 48:8 Yea, thou hast not heard, Yea, thou hast not known, Yea, from that time not opened hath thine ear, For I have known thou dealest treacherously, And ‘Transgressor from the belly,’ One is crying to thee.

Ezekiel 3:3 He said to me, Son of man, cause your belly to eat, and fill your bowels with this scroll that I give you. Then I ate it; and it was as sweet as honey in my mouth.

Jonah 2:1 Then Jonah prayed to Yahweh, his God, out of the fish’s belly.

One thought on “The belly of the bible

  1. Out of the Matrix of the Womb, the “Belly” of Humanity came, and to the dust of the belly of Christ we return…He has filled all things with himself.For it pleased God to put all things under Christ until the TIME be fullfilled,And TIME will be no more….the end of the bible in Revelation says I AM…the first and the Last! ( I had a near-death experience with our Lord Jesus Christ, but I call it a “Devine Intervention” for at the time I was being transported by his infinate Love and Showed things here on the Earth….but he spewed me back “OUT OF HIS BELLY” back inside my physical body I went!) I was NOT READY—I WAS THE LAIODCIAN-LUKE-WARM “unsteady LOST SHEEP sinner”…I STILL NEEDED SOME SCHOOLING.
    Christ and God are our two witnesses “while here” residing inside us…he knows everything open and bare about us! We cannot hide ourselves from the eyes of the “all seeing eye of God” which we must explain everything we do, at The judgement day, he will manifest the whole matrix of humanity and all the walls will be torn down and “all thought processes” and motives of the heart will be known by ALL. By our own words will we be justified or condemned for Words come out of the mouth through the belly and our digesting of the words will expose the intent of the heart either to hurt or help.
    When I was in “The BELLY” these fountain-like Rivers where flowing and healing me and comforting me as I was bleeding to death in the ambulance, but death was swallowed up! 1 Corthians 15….and I could communicate without words with mind and thought and everything was “omini-potent”, very much alive and warm and I felt this overflowing LOVE (a huge HEART)that Iv’e never quite experienced to the full down here.I was drawn-up like a flower soaking up a sun-like warmth and coddled like an infant and sweetly shown compassion, like a mother-father spirit. Words cannot discribe the experience of weightlessness and stress-lessness…just infinate love and peace flowing and total bliss knowing he cares and did not condemn me for the person I thought I was, A failure and thoughtless thankless sinner…… I could go on and on about the wonderfulness of this Savior. Even though I did not deserve any of the kindness he bestowed upon me, he let me know that I DID MATTER TO HIM.
    We are as dust when formed and to dust we go, but the spirit is what lives on…the fruit of that spirit.
    We return to the “Watery Grave”, if you would compair that to “Umbilical fluid”, I do not know but in Revelation chapter 13 the EARTH helped (The WOMAN-true church bride) and swallowed up the FLOOD of water…OVERFLOWING SCOURGE??? It reminds me of “The Sign of Jonah” and Jesus was also “In the Belly of the Earth” for 3 days and nights ….so he could preach to “The Spirits in Prision”…
    They were obviously bound to Earthly things and made a covenant with death,Isaiah 13. The belly is compaired to HELL, below……..they serve their own belly.
    The Eminity with the SERPENT between the woman-church says in Genesis “On your belly ye shall go eating dust all your life”.Kicking up dust!
    …work not for the FOOD that perishes but the bread of life-The WORD—the hidden manna…those Israelites wandered in the DRY DUSTY DESERT eating dust for 40 years in the wilderness and they are ensamples for us in this present age, HEBREWS chapters 2 and 3 and 4!!!….God is the God of TIME….Our SIGN is AS JONAH………3days.
    Tear down this temple and I will build it in 3 days…..
    Jesus preached to the Spirits in Prision(THEIR MINDS) and stayed inside the Earths BELLY and (RESTED) on the SABBATH SATURDAY…………that,…is our sign too, so that we will not be in PRISION or SPIRITUAL DARKNESS.
    Even JOHN was “In THE SPIRIT” on “The LORDS REAL SABBATH DAY SATURDAY” on the ISLE of PATMOS when WRITING the BOOK of REVELATION for us…Revelation chapter 1;13…Genisis2;3-4 That day is SANTIFIED.
    Hebrews 4;9-11 we must NOT fail to ENTER into that REST of the 1000 year millenium. Blessed and Holy is he that has the part of the first resurrection for in him the second death holds no horrors.
    God does not change and he is not mocked. We are to give our Creator the Praise he is due and exalt him and learn of him.
    Jesus said in Matthew 5 of the beauitudes when he MAGNIFIED the law of Love and Liberty that we are free to OBEY Romans 3;31 and that ALL the LAW & THE PROPHETS will continue till ALL be fulfilled….Like little children that will listen to their parents , if we know what is good for us we will listen.
    We are NOT UNDER the LAW but BY the LAW we see if we measure up to what Christ requires of us as disciples. We do not judge others for he is able to make them stand or fall.
    The book of Moses was placed inside the ark. True desciples are deciplined enough to do as Jesus did.
    Mercy is above the Law and the Mercy-Seat covers the ARK.Show mercy as Christ did and you will be showed mercy. Show Forgiveness and you will be forgiven…it’s so pure and simple….that OUT OF YOUR BELLY WILL FLOW RIVERS OF LIVING WATER>

Leave a Reply

